Appointment to the Board of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA)


Appointment to the Board of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA)

The Minister for Finance Michael Noonan T.D. today announced the appointment of Ms Gerardine Jones to the Board of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) for a five-year term with immediate effect.

This appointment follows a public competition held by the Public Appointments Service (PAS).

Commenting on the appointment, Minister Noonan said:

“Gerardine Jones has garnered a wealth of senior business and financial markets experience over her career.  Gerardine’s experience will be a valuable addition to the NTMA Board and I wish her well on her appointment.”

NTMA Chairperson, Willie Walsh, added:

“I welcome the announcement by the Minister for Finance today of the appointment of Gerardine Jones to the NTMA Board. She is well placed to make a valuable contribution to the organisation”.



10 March, 2017


For Further Information:

David Byrne, Press Officer +353 (0) 86 026 7978

Note for Editors

Gerardine Jones is a chartered accountant with over 30 years business and senior leadership experience. She has a proven track record in executing key strategic initiatives, both nationally and internationally, and is a specialist in the facilitation of business growth. She is currently a Director of Sharpsburg Consultants Limited and also has a number of non-executive director roles, including with BNY Mellon Fund Services (Ireland) DAC, and ITG Limited.  She was previously Deputy Chief Executive and Head of Risk at Cantor Fitzgerald Ireland, and Director of Listing at the Irish Stock Exchange.”

About The NTMA

The National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) is a State body which operates with a commercial remit to provide asset and liability management services to Government. Businesses managed by the NTMA include borrowing for the Exchequer and management of the National Debt, the Ireland Strategic Investment Fund, the National Development Finance Agency, NewERA and the State Claims Agency.

The members of the NTMA Board are:

Mr. Willie Walsh                               Chair

Ms. Maeve Carton

Ms. Gerardine Jones

Mr. Derek Moran                             Ex officio (Secretary General, Department of Finance)

Mr. Martin Murphy

Mr. Conor O'Kelly                            Ex officio (NTMA Chief Executive)

Ms. Mary Walsh

Mr. Robert Watt                               Ex officio (Secretary General, Department of Finance)

Ms. Susan Webb